For generations, Chimney Rock has been one of Nebraska’s most prolific and well-known landmarks. First designated as a National Historic Site on August 9, 1956, the natural monument inspired pioneers during their travels centuries ago. From the 1840’s to the 1860’s, the landmark inspired many artists to document its grandeur, including the famous western landscape painter Albert Bierstadt.

Today, The Nebraska State Historical Society Foundation aims to protect the site for future generations. In November 2018, the Foundation purchased 360 acres of pasture situated between Chimney Rock’s spire and the Abbott Visitor Center. With this purchase, visitors will eventually be able to get closer to the great monument.

Now, the foundation needs your help in raising $1.7 million to expand and improve the Abbott Visitor Center.

Donate to the Chimney Rock Project:

Donate $10.00
Donate $25.00
Donate $50.00
Donate $100.00
Donate $250.00
Donate $500.00

Images © Sharon Henderson, used with permission.

Press coverage and more information about the Chimney Rock project: