Keeping Nebraska History Alive!

2021 Statewide Grant Recipients

Dakota County Historical Society

Dakota County Historical Society‘s mission is to preserve, restore, and maintain historical sites in Dakota County and the state of Nebraska. They will use their grant towards the restoration of the O’Connor House in Homer, NE (pictured above). The O’Connor house is a 1870s mansion with historic relics. The grant will help with repair projects to ensure continued use of the site for future generations.

Bess Streeter Aldrich Foundation

The Bess Streeter Aldrich Foundation preserves and promotes the life and works of Bess Streeter Aldrich and promotes educational opportunities for reading and writing. Bess Streeter Aldrich was one of Nebraska’s most widely read authors. The foundation’s grant was used to develop a curriculum for teachers to use alongside A Lantern In Her Hand, a novel by Aldrich that outlines the classic story of Nebraska pioneer women.

Seven Valleys Historical Society

Seven Valleys Historical Society is located in Callaway and is responsible for three buildings: the first Custer County Courthouse, Holy Trinity Episcopal Church, and the jail. With all three buildings being over 100 years old, they need work done to maintain historical preservation. Seven Valleys Historical Society will use their grant towards repairing the log-cabin Courthouse.

Preserving Nebraska's history for future generations.