Alkali Station is an archaeological site approximately 10 miles east of Ogallala, Nebraska on land purchased by the Nebraska State Historical Society Foundation in 2019.

What is Alkali Station?

During the great expansion west in the 1850’s and 1860’s the Alkali Station served as a rest stop and staging area for migrants and transporters. It was a home station for Pony Express riders where they could stretch and change horses. Later, it became a telegraph station. Alkali Station was an army base during the Civil War and early phases of the conflict of the Indian War, where soldiers trained and guarded travelers. It was visited by world travelers like Richard F. Burton.

Alkali Station survives as a well-preserved archaeological site because, unlike most other sections of the Overland Trail, it has never been plowed. Remains of sod buildings, walls, and corrals that were raised at the site are all visible and a broad swath of historic trail ruts can be seen leading to and past the site. Because of its importance and integrity, Alkali Station has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

The Nebraska State Historical Society Foundation acquired this property to assure preservation of the site due to its importance in American’s pioneer history. The acquisition does create unavoidable obligations for on-going maintenance costs and debt involved in acquiring the site must be retired. You are invited to be a part of creating a legacy of historical significance by making a contribution to the Alkali Station fund.

Alkali Station pasture
Pete Peters and Marvin Stumpf with a Flag Pole at Alkali Station

Donate today to Alkali Station!

Gifts of all amounts are welcomed and appreciated. We have several giving levels, and each includes special benefits as a thank-you for your donation:

  • Recognition in our Annual Report and newsletter
  • Copy of newsletter
  • All Sod Structures benefits, plus…
  • A very special annual thank you gift
  • All Alkali Lake Station benefits, plus…
  • Invitation to Foundation special events
  • All Military Post benefits, plus…
  • Invitation to VIP reception at the Annual Meeting
  • All Road Ranche benefits plus…
  • Name recognition on our website and at all Foundation special events
  • All Richard F. Burton benefits, plus…
  • Recognition as a 150 Fund member, in a permanent exhibit at the Nebraska History Museum and/or other historic sites
  • To become a 150 Fund member, please contact Leslie Fattig at or 402-435-3535

To donate to Alkali Station via check, please make your check payable to the NSHS Foundation and mail to:
128 North 13th Street #1010
Lincoln, NE, 68508

Click below to download and print the Alkali Station slip to mail in with your check.

Thank you to our donors so far:

  • Todd and Kandy Adams
  • Douglas and Cathy Aden
  • Margaret Allington
  • Anne and Lang Anderson
  • Ruth Asboe
  • David and Virginia Bacon
  • Robert and Barbara Bartle
  • Rod and Debbie Basler
  • Barbara Bell
  • Todd and Betty Berens
  • Paul and Sharon Berg
  • Louise Boyd
  • David Boyer and Rolando Garcia
  • Dave Burden
  • Penny Businga
  • Jack and Sally Campbell
  • Jerry and Suzy Carlson
  • Catherine Caton
  • Dennis and Joan Clare
  • Rod and Sue Clement
  • Nancy Cohen
  • Glenn and Dixie Colson
  • Judith Cook
  • Vernon Cook
  • Cornhusker Bank
  • Robert and Patricia Cozart
  • Harl and Kay Dalstrom
  • Hal and Mary Daub
  • Bob and Nancy Davis
  • Michael and Janet Davis
  • Kathleen Fowles
  • Douglas Frels
  • James Fruehling
  • Michael Furrow
  • John and Carol Gale
  • Douglas and Betty Garey
  • Charles Gordon
  • Rosalie Gregerson
  • Kevin and Rosie Hartzell
  • Lyle Hendrickson
  • Charles and Margaret Hermes
  • William and Jan Hill
  • Patty Howard
  • Henrietta Hubenka
  • John Irwin
  • Dean and Maria Jacobsen
  • Andrew MacAoidh Jergens
  • Janice Johnson
  • Kenneth Jones
  • Ron and Deb Kallenbach
  • JB and Carla Ketner
  • Charles and Nanette Kienow
  • Bill and Teddi Kluck
  • Carol Kraus
  • Nancy Lederer
  • Vera Levit
  • Janice Lipovsky
  • Richard Loutzenheiser
  • Betty and Norman Mapes
  • Larry and Danell Martin
  • Jim Marsh
  • Rebecca and Rick Matticks
  • Terrence McCafferty
  • Carol McDermitt
  • Daniel McKinney
  • Beverly Meadows
  • Fred and Patricia Meisinger
  • James Miller
  • Paul Mills
  • Mosby Lincoln Foundation
  • George and Marilyn Moyer
  • Mary Owens
  • Timothy and Denene Owens
  • Father Wayne Pavela
  • Pat and Donna Pelster
  • Patti Peterson
  • Stephen and Linda Phillips
  • Thomas and Juanita Phillips
  • Ken and Linda Pohlman
  • Richard Powell
  • Deborah Qualey
  • Ronald Reagan
  • Gary Reter
  • Joe Ricketts
  • Bruce and Sandra Rippeateau
  • Eric and Debbie Rosenlof
  • Molly Dee Rundle
  • Dave and Trixie Schmidt
  • Don and Janice Schnier
  • Julie Schroeder
  • Kathryn Schroeder
  • Rhonda Seacrest
  • Harlan and Bonnie Seyfer
  • Elizabeth Sposato
  • Marcia Stewart
  • Marvin Stumpf
  • Dennis and Terri Swanson
  • Sherryn Talbitzer
  • Jan Thelen
  • Jack and Jean Vincent
  • Kenneth Von Bargen
  • Robert and Marilyn Wagner
  • Kent and Nancy Wilson
  • Pauline Wimberly
  • Terry Woodman
  • Brian and Dixie Wulf
  • Lawrence Yoble
  • Birgit Young