



THE NEBRASKANS OF WORLD WAR II SCHOLARSHIP AND PEARL HARBOR REMEMBRANCE AWARD

THE SCHOLARSHIPS

In 2024, the Nebraskans of World War II Scholarship Fund will award up to four (4) \$2,500 scholarships and three (3) \$1,000 Pearl Harbor Remembrance Awards to outstanding seniors from the communities listed below. Schools serving those communities, both public and private, may forward the nominations of no more than two seniors to be reviewed by the Scholarship Committee. The scholarship recipients will be announced no later than April 1, 2024.

Students must complete the nomination form and provide the supporting materials to the

Scholarship committee no later than January 26, 2024. Nomination forms are available at the school counselor's office. Nominees who do not receive the Nebraskans of World War II Scholarship will be considered for the Pearl Harbor Remembrance Award.

Family members, staff, and/or trustees of Nebraska State Historical Society Foundation and History Nebraska are not eligible to receive scholarships.

Seniors applying must be from the school districts which encompass the hometowns of the memorialized sailors.

The hometowns are:

Lincoln

Madison

Mitchell

Alda Nelson Broken Bow Newark (Minden) Brule North Bend Central City Omaha Palisade Cozad Gothenburg Potter Kearney Ravenna

THE NEBRASKANS OF WORLD WAR II SCHOLARSHIP



The Nebraskans of World War II Scholarship Fund was created to memorialize the brave men and women who served their country fighting for the freedoms of millions of people.

Two Lincoln, Nebraska, servicemen in particular, have been memorialized by their families through these scholarships: Edward J. Clough and Adrian B. DePutron.

GM1C Edward Clough was killed during the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941 and remains entombed aboard the U.S.S. Arizona. His sister, Helen, chose to honor his memory through a gift that would help establish the Nebraskans of World War II Scholarship Fund.

Lt. Adrian DePutron was killed during the Battle of the Bulge on January 20, 1945, while serving with General Patton's Third Army. The Lieutenant's aunt, Marjorie Barstow, through her estate, honored her nephew's service with a gift to help enhance the scholarship program.

The Nebraskans of World War II Scholarship Fund provides up to four (4) \$2,500 scholarships to high school seniors from the school districts which encompass the communities that were hometowns of the entombed Nebraska sailors.

This scholarship is specifically designated for expenses and will be paid directly to the educational institution.

THE PEARL HARBOR REMEMBRANCE AWARD

The Pearl Harbor Remembrance Award Fund was created by Colonel Barney Oldfield, a Tecumseh, Nebraska native, and his wife Vada to honor the 22 Nebraskans who were killed during the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor and remain entombed in the U.S.S. Arizona.

"Vada and I wanted to do something to honor those Nebraskans who lost their lives in Pearl

Harbor. We wanted to do more than lay a wreath or say a prayer. Those who lost their lives and those who knew them deserve more than dismissal as statistics and the anonymity given them by distance of both mileage and time. It was for that reason we established the Pearl Harbor Remembrance fund which links the names of those 22 men to awards for all of time to come." - Colonel Oldfield

The Pearl Harbor Remembrance fund provides up to three (3) \$1,000 awards to high school seniors who applied for, but did not receive, the Nebraskans of World War II Scholarship.

The award may be used at the winner's discretion.

IN MEMORY

This memorial is built on top of the U.S.S. Arizona battleship that still remains on the bottom of the harbor. Of the 1,777 men killed on board, 1,102 men are still buried within the battleship today. This battleship became the final resting place to these men. The 22 Nebraska soldiers entombed with the U.S.S. Arizona are listed below.



HA1c Gerald Arthur Atkins Gothenburg

F1c Kenneth Robert Bickel

Potter

CMM Harry L. Browne

Ravenna S1c Naamen N. Chapman

Mitchell

F1c Loyd Raymond Christensen Alda

Cox Robert R. Clayton Central City

GM1c Edward Jay Clough Lincoln

Ptr1c William Eernisse North Bend

S1c Richard Everett Ellis Omaha

Cox Peter John Harris Lincoln

F1c James Thomas Hasl

Omaha

HA1c Lester John Hoelscher Madison

Y3c Warren Allen Jones Kearney

Capt. Thomas Leroy Kirkpatrick Cozad

SC3c Stanley Kula Omaha

Ens Frank Stuart Lomax

Broken Bow

S2c Max Valdyne Peery Mus2c Neal Jason Radford

Newark (Minden) S1c Gerald Harold Riggins

Brule

RM2c Tom Savin Omaha

MM1c Elmer Pershing Schlund St. Michael

SC3 Elmer Elias Yates Palisade

Scholarships Administered by

Nebraska State Historical Society Foundation

> 402-435-3535 www.nshsf.org

Please see your Guidance Counselor if you want to apply for this scholarship!